Home

With university around the corner there comes the stress and anxiety in preparing to apply to University. We prepare our portfolio’s and write our admissions letters and we are set to take the leap. With having written my admissions letter, I realized it was no easy process. This was where I needed to shine, I needed to prove myself, you can be great in person but if you can also be great on paper… Well that was my goal. During this process I was forced to sit down and go through my accomplishments of the past couple years. Interesting enough each time I discovered something new to put in my letter, the more confident I became, it was me who had accomplished all these great things on my list.

It was only here that I realized how much I had accomplished in so little time. I straightened myself out and I had done more in the last 3 years of my life than all 19 put together. Then I thought about how much time I had left in life to accomplish so many other things i haven’t gotten around to yet. I throughly enjoy thinking of the future because it is mine to shape. Although it is important to not set our sights to high, you need have some sort of confidence in yourself. There must be some voice inside your head saying you can do it, because if you don’t believe in yourself, who else will?

After completing the letter I had suddenly felt at ease with university applications. Not only had the letter conveyed myself to be perceived the way I intended but it also did something for my self esteem. It was so much easier to visualize what I had been doing with my academic career up to this point while it was in my own words on paper. I was even more surprised at how much writing the letter motivated me to be bigger and better than I already was (and that’s pretty damn good) but it did, and sometimes it can be hard to find that motivation.

With that said, if you feel like your life is at a standstill and you can’t quite figure out where to go next, I would suggest writing a admissions letter. Because nothing compares to writing a great story when you’re the main character.

19 thoughts on “Dear Admissions Committee..

  1. Hearts, what a great post, you should be quite proud of yourself and the accomplishments of the last 3 years, each of us seek balance, and a semblance of normalcy. It would appear you are starting to make the right decisions, and acting on them. It would also appear you have made some choices for your life that you’re happier with. I congratulate you for that and would suggest that you not done by any means, as you continue your maturing process you will again and again be faced with the need to change, don’t fret embrace it. Take care and good luck in your future. Also thank you for stopping by my blog and liking one on my recent posts. Hopefully you will find other reasons to visit. Take care, Bill

    Like

  2. When I read the pressures young people are under these days, I’m really pleased I went to university when I did, back in the late ‘sixties. I had a grant, things were much simpler, we didn’t have to work, and we simply spent our time studying without getting tired of work on the side. I hope all works out well for you, take care.

    Like

  3. As a college professor myself, I applaud your understanding. One caveat: You write the story and you may be the main character, but think of all those other characters who have helped (or sometimes hindered)your story. The narrative grows deeper and richer that way. I usually have students in my classes outline their own books of life; it’s amazing how seldom anyone takes the time to do so. Keep at it.

    Like

  4. Excellent suggestion. Sometimes we get so bogged down in problems and everyday that we forget how far we’ve come. Congratulations on your achievements and best of luck!

    Like

  5. Admissions aside, so many problems arise from a distorted self image, and writing an “admissions letter” can be a good way to get objective about yourself. On that note, you obviously have plenty going for you!

    Like

Leave a comment