Home

“I always say the truth is best even when we find it unpleasant. Any rat in a sewer can lie. It’s how rats are. It’s what makes them rats. But a human doesn’t run and hide in dark places, because he’s something more. Lying is the most personal act of cowardice there is.”
― Nancy FarmerThe House of the Scorpion

I think I can speak for everyone when I say that we’ve all got a couple rats in our friendly little circles. Sometimes we even try to justify their nasty habit by saying that feelings were spared in the process. We try to rationalize why people lie, why do they fake themselves to be somebody else? I used to lie at a point and I was terrible at it, not because I wasn’t believable, but because I couldn’t keep track of all the lies I was telling. This went on for some time until I realized that I was completely screwing up any good relationships I had by doing this. I was destroying the foundation of something I really cared about. Nobody was helping me destroy it either, I was doing it all on my own.

Lies aren’t just verbal, they are physical too. Of course I see the point in why girls wear make up and all it’s glory, but what about when it becomes a mask. What happens when you love what you see the mirror, and then you wipe off the makeup and the reality sits in that the face you saw in the mirror isn’t actually you.

I can’t seem to understand how lying can give someone satisfaction. I believe lying does more damage to the liar rather than the person being lied to. Which I believe to be the most harmful consequence. If you constantly lie about yourself, about your feelings, you slowly start to forget who you actually are. If you wear all that make up everyday, no wonder it’s a shock when you take it off and you don’t recognize the girl in the mirror.

Even rats wear makeup, they even wear business suits too. Sometimes they wear baseball caps, and glasses. Looks can be so very deceiving.

Point is, one day the rat is going to have to tell people he’s a rat, I’m sure people have an idea but it’s better to admit and grow than to just live unhappy forever. I know that lying does no good, we have to remember for every action there is a reaction, and those reactions never turn out they way we hope they will.

Liars only lie so they don’t have to deal with who they really are. It’s sad because maybe they aren’t so bad, maybe what they are so scared to share might actually do them some good. Maybe their actual face is prettier than their mask, but they never gave anyone a chance to see it? I wish liars would give themselves a chance to be real to who they are, to embrace themselves, even a rat can learn to love himself. Maybe the rat can one day just come out and say “hey everybody, i’m a rat!” and maybe people will get scared and run, but maybe someone else in the corner will take off his body suit and go “hey! i’m a rat too!” Then all the other rats who couldn’t bare to tell the truth might just see how harmless it really is. Then the rats will realize they don’t have to lie to be happy, all they have to do is be true.

If you choose to tell the truth then you don’t need to remember anything, you can just be yourself, in the most literal way possible.

To be or not to be, that is the question.

11 thoughts on “liar, liar.

  1. I used to believe everything I hear cause I didn’t suspect that ppl will lie to me .. or to anyone when there is no reason to lie . You see I believe in honesty and will only be forced to lie to avoid getting into trouble ..I believed ppl will only lrememberhey were afraid and so I believed them thinking that they have nothing to fear when we talk about casual things…But now I don’t believe anything anymore..cause I was shocked when I found out that I was being lied to all my life. . learned that ppl are not like me ..but would lie about anything and without any reason. .I just hate lying and think trying to fool the person you are talking to is unforgivable but as I grew up I learned that lying is just a normal human behavior while honesty is condidered.rude and ppl will avoid you cause u will expose them and they would prefer being wjth someone who speaks to them in a similar language. Liers are psychos I think and some would even believe their own lies and live in denial .I no longer listen or pay attention to what ppl say but would observe rheir behavior ans believe my own heart and feeling. .these two will never lie to me. Great post .. loved it ..I just wish that ppl will grow up and stop pretending to be fun and interesting. ..stop their pathstic way of trying to get ppl’sapproval and just accept who they are ..stop trying to amuze others wuth bullshit .
    Making things up ..they r sick..and should be ashamed of such behavior and never encourage it. They should stop acting and pretending to be someone other than themselves. Accept yourself and be honest ..honesty is the key to a healthy life .. and remember that liar liar pants on fire 😉

    Like

Leave a comment