Home

To some people, being rich may mean that they have expensive cars, or they travel the world, or live in big luxurious houses. Other times it may be that your family has their own private jet and you get everything you could ever ask for. Growing up, these material things made up what my idea of happiness was. I used to envy the kids in elementary school getting dropped off in their escalades and sports cars. When I was a kid, I think when everyone was kid, you thought at some point, you could buy happiness. When you wanted that big swimming pool in your backyard so bad and you just couldn’t understand why your parents couldn’t give it to you. You remember thinking how happy you would be to have that pool. Nothing else mattered, not the friend you had over 3 hours ago, not the treat your grandmother bought you after lunch, or the new bicycle your dad bought you the week before. Nothing would make you happy in that moment except a pool. It takes a while to realize that you really can’t buy happiness, even though sometimes you think you can.

I used to envy people with money, I hate when I say it. I’m ashamed, because what gives me the right to wish for something that I think is better than what I already have? I stopped myself one day, and said to myself why does being rich define how happy I am. Why did I ask God everyday why he couldn’t give me wealthier parents, or why could’t I have a nice house and car. Then it dawned on me just how rich I already was.

I had parents who loved me, and never hurt me, never laid a hand on me, and never ever made me feel like I wasn’t loved. Did you know that some rich people don’t even have that? Then I thought about the house I already had, and how perfect the amount of space it was for my little family. Did you know that some rich people feel lonely stuck by themselves with all that square footage. I thought about my talents. I was a really good dancer, and I loved skipping rope, and how I could tell a great story. Do you know that some rich people don’t even know who they are anymore?

I had so many things in my life that made me rich, only I was too busy looking at what I didn’t have that I completely forgot what I was already blessed with. Who’s to say, a big house and nice car can define how rich you are. Why do we wish for more than we already have, when people are just wishing to live, or that their loved one will get better, or for some food for the night. If you stripped me down to skin and bones, I’d still be the richest girl in the world, because I have got everything I have ever needed. I have a family who loves me, I love myself, I love the person I’m becoming, and i’m so thankful for what I have been blessed with while I enjoy my stay on this earth. That’s what makes me rich, Groucho Marx once said “While money can’t buy happiness, it certainly lets you choose your own form of misery.” and that’s exactly why I’m telling you to recognize what you have. Your bank account does not define you, your car does not define you, the person you are defines you, and who’s to say that person can’t be rich? Do not let yourself believe that life is unfair and that theres lucky people and unlucky people because when you get down to the bottom line, happiness really is what you make it.

56 thoughts on “how I became rich.

  1. Lovely post. I was lucky enough to be brought up as a Buddhist (well my father is a practicing Buddhist, my mother Christian -loosely) and they have the ‘middle way’ which means not to indulge too much in anything. Especially, money is shunned but anything but spiritual growth is discouraged. Needless to say I felt a bit alienated at school, especially in Buckinghamshire which is a staunch conservative borough where material success is everything.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great stuff! Definitely a smart outlook on happinness. A kid once said, and I paraphrase “A person goes to school, works hard and gets good grades; then the person goes to college, works hard and gets good grades; then the person gets a job. Then their children do the same, and then their children do the same, so on and so forth, and no one takes a second to look back and think, ‘why are we doing this.’ ” Great Post! Time to take a second and enjoy life!

    Like

  3. You are blessed with wisdom beyond your years.Beautiful sentiments.
    also wanted to thank you for stopping by my blog and liking my blog enough to follow I am most grateful.

    Like

  4. I found I felt richest when neither me nor my partner had a job, we ate canned food and frozen pizza’s, we’d just recently went through all of our belongings and got rid of 3/4 of it and we slept on a make shift bed whilst renovating out house. More money was going out, than coming in. Like you say, its the people and your perspective not the mullah. great post.

    Like

  5. I wish more people see the world the way you do. I treat many so called ‘rich’ people who usually realizes too late that no amount of money will change the fact they have cancer. Then it takes them so long to accept the truth, that by the time they start to appreciate the other riches they have in their lives, it is too late. I think it is so true to appreciate and enjoy what we have rather than lament and be envious of what we don’t! Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  6. Wise realization! You wrote something about having been focused on what you didn’t have rather than what you did – so true.. I think that is a sure-fire way to wind up unhappy in our circumstances. If we put thought into it, there would always be something we wanted but didn’t have.

    Like

  7. Pingback: Friday Pick 92 | talktodiana

  8. Thanks for reminding us of such a simple (but sometimes not obvious) truth. I struggle with a similar concept at times which isn’t so much about needing more, but fearing not having enough. In the end it is the same, just a different fear driving the bus.

    It makes me think of Cheryl Crow and her song Soak Up The Sun. I love the line “It’s not having what you want. It’s wanting what you’ve got.”

    Like

  9. Thanks for writing this. I know how it feels, being envious of others for their wealth. I’ve barely taken the time to look around me and see how much I already have. You’ve made me realise that society’s definition of rich is not everyone’s meaning of rich.

    Like

  10. Thanks for the follow on my blog, first off. Now I want o tell you that I am inspired to write my own version of how I became rich. Look for it soon in your reader. Thanks for the inspirational and make it a blessed day.

    Like

  11. So beautiful, so well wrote. I love what and how you say it.
    As for me, I am not wealthy. Have never been. BUT I’ve been rich beyond my wildest dreams and didn’t even realize it until a few years ago. Thank You for reminding me once again 😀
    And Thank You for your ‘Follow’ on my blog! 😀 🙂

    Like

  12. I love the comparison between you and the rich.

    I myself recently asked myself, “Do I want to be rich or fianacially stabled?” When I realized being rich is not a pirority, I almost felt like I was being complacent.

    But youre right! We are all rich in a sense.

    Like

  13. So true–I am now starting to realize what real “wealth” is, and it does not lie in material things or money. Thanks for writing!

    Like

  14. This is a great word. Being rich is not defined in the possessions we have. It is so much more. And you have done an excellent job of showing us what that “more” is! The world has done a excellent job of painting a picture of what being rich is but it’s false. You have hit the nail on the head….

    Rolain

    Like

Leave a comment